Consistently Inconsistent

Admittedly, I can be fairly impulsive person, acting on my random whims as they occur. Although this can be a recipe for excitement, it can be a quick route to frustration (especially for others). Suffice it to say, if there’s one thing in my personal life (luckily, I’m much more disciplined in my professional life) with which I consistently struggle, it’s … er… consistency (oh, the irony!) — especially when it comes to finishing projects.

Instead of seeing a specific project to 100% completion and then moving on, I tend to bounce from one thing to the next, doing a LOTS of work with little to show for it in terms of “finished” products.

inertia strikes again.

So… why the public confession?

Two Reasons.

One, I like the idea of public accountability and two, my past approach to this blog is an excellent example of the inconsistency I’m trying to subdue.

2 thoughts on “Consistently Inconsistent

  1. Yup, anybody can START a project but finishing it requires nerves of steel, perseverance, self-discipline.

    I’ve sat at my desk every morning for 25+ years wondering how the hell I’m going to fill up the blank page with words that “cry and sing”. It’s a daily struggle, with little hope of reward.

    Geez, I just realized: I fit the standard definition of a masochist. I think I’d better go lie down, I feel a head ache coming on…

Leave a comment